Tomaszów Lubelski – Orthodox church
18 January 2013
St. Nicolas of Myra Orthodox church in Tomaszów Lubelski belongs to Lublin-Chełm parish of the Polish Autocephalous Orthodox Church. The temple is located in the heart of the town, near the Market Square, and cannot go unnoticed even from a distance.
It was built in years 1885-1890, in accordance with Neo-Russian style which set architectonic trends at the time. Konstanty Drozdowski and Gabriel Arbuzow supervised the construction process while Kuźma Morozow created the magnificent iconostatis. It is worth mentioning that the temple was built owing to efforts of priest Gierasimowicz, whose contribution is still remembered by Tomaszów Orthodox community. After all, he was the one to develop local St. Nicolas Brotherhood that built a wooden teahouse, which is an important monument in Tomaszów Lubelski.
In 1947, after local Orthodox residents were displaced due to Wisła [Vistula] military action, the church was deserted. It was changed into a cooperative storage. In 1982 the Orthodox parish in Tomaszów was restored. It was the beginning of a long, but successful renovation of St. Nicholas Orthodox Church.
The church is brick-built, divided into three parts. It has a dome above the aisles with four towers that imitate cupolas. A unique polychrome, that illustrates various saints, is set inside the temple. The body of the church is exceptionally interesting.
The most precious piece in the Church is the Mother of God icon from the 17th century which has been recently refurbished.
The St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Orthodox Church in Tomaszów Lubelski
[address] ul. Rynek 13
tel. 84 664 28 36